Organizing my art studio – paper towel holder

This weekend I got really annoyed with the loose paper towel roll that sits on my drafting table next to my palette, my paints and everything else that ends up there. I had some scrap pieces of wood, wooden dowel, wooden spoon, tools and paints.

I had 1″x 4″ about 4 ft. long piece of wood and cut it into three pieces: 13 1/2″ and (2) 3″ long pieces. I drilled a hole a little bigger than the diameter of the dowel in the center of the 2- 3″ pieces and also drilled 4 pilot holes, 2 on each end on the 13 1/2″ piece of wood and the two 3″ pieces, attached the two pieces to the opposite end of the 13 1/2″ piece with wood screws.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I cut the dowel to measure 15″ of length, attach spool with wood glue.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sanded, painted and attached to drafting table with wood screws. Viola…My quick, easy and free solution to my loose paper towel roll. It’s a little rustic (lol) but still better looking than those cheap plastic ones and it works perfect.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

